NEW Victorian Senior MX Champions Crowned!

(Image Credit: John Smith).

The final round of the Victorian Senior MX Championships was held over the past weekend, hosted at the Albury-Wodonga Motorcycle Club and Motorcycling Victoria and MVMX Management are pleased to announce the crowning of some riders as 2017 MX CHAMPIONS!

So far all of the MX1, MXD and Women’s classes have been finalised with the others currently pending, to be finalised this week.

Congratulations to all the riders below and our new Champions!

MX1 Pro:

1st: Callum Norton (365pts)
2nd: Joel Green (362)
3rd: Lachlan Davis (354)

Norton came away with the overall victory after a Championship series of an equal second place at Round 1, a first overall in Round 2, a second in Round 3 and a second in Albury-Wodonga.

Green pushed him the entire way, making Norton really work for the Championship win, finishing two points back at Albury and ultimately, three points short overall.

MX1 A Grade:

1st: Ryan Shadbolt (387)
2nd: Karl Claridge (330)
3rd: Adam Coles (325)

Shadbolt took out the first, second and fourth rounds on his way to the Championship win in the MX1 A Grade Class, Claridge pipped him by one point and took the honours in the third round.

MX1 B Grade:

1st: Cody Ryan (376)
2nd: Kade Dunscombe (346)
3rd: Max Closter (343)

A second in Round 1 and a couple of round wins in Rounds 2 & 3 set things up perfectly for Cody Ryan to take out the MX1 B Grade class. Not everything went to plan in Albury-Wodonga but he came through with the Championship win regardless.

Closter was the only other rider to take out a round victory during the series but with Dunscombe riding consistently well and finishing near the top in each round, he was pipped by three points for the second spot on the podium.

MX1 C Grade:

1st: Josh Proctor (384)
2nd: Shannon McCoid (323)
3rd: Brett Vella

Wrapping up the series with two straight round wins saw Josh Proctor take the top-most step on the podium for the overall Championship. His six straight race wins across Rounds 3 & 4 saw him finish clear on top.

Ladies Expert:

1st: Danielle Foot (383)
2nd: Courtney Whyte-Dennis (372)
3rd: Morgan Wright (344)

One round win, two seconds and a third were enough for Danielle Foot to hold off Courtney Whyte-Dennis in the Ladies Expert class and ultra consistent racing from Morgan Wright saw her round out the podium positions.

Ladies Clubman:

1st: Fleur Barling (382)
2nd: Sarah Knights (362)
3rd: Erica Thompson (341)

Two round wins in the even numbered rounds, including the final round at Albury-Wodonga, were enough for Fleur Barling to take out the Ladies Clubmen class ahead of Knights and Thompson who jockeyed for position through most of the rounds during 2017.

MXD A Grade:

1st: Morgan Fogarty (417)
2nd: Ryan Kenney (387)
3rd: Jed Polomka (259)

Talk about consistent! Fogarty won all but one race during the entire series in the MXD A Grade class to take it out ahead of Ryan Kenney and Jed Polomka. Kenney taking one win in Race Two of Round 1 and was then consistent himself with second position in every remaining race.

MXD B Grade:

1st: Mackenzie O’Bree (384)
2nd: Ryan Thompson (340)
3rd: Bailey Koolen (338)

Second, first, third and second across the four rounds saw O’Bree finish 44pts ahead of Thompson in the MXD B Grade class.

MXD C Grade:

1st: Jonathan De Jonk (399)
2nd: Ben Kessler (380)
3rd: Wyatt McLaughlin (371)

A victory in each of the three races at Albury-Wodonga was enough for De Jonk to hold off the fight from Kessler and McLaughlin. Those three riders having a great battle across all four rounds of the 2017 Championships.

CONGRATULATIONS again to those riders who took out the Championship and, in fact, to all riders who took part in the 2017 Victorian Senior MX Championships!

Once the remaining classes are finalised we all announce the rest of the Senior MX Champions for this year!

Don’t forget that the 2017 Victorian Junior MX Championships end their run down in Wonthaggi in about a months time.

News Archive


Our Partners