Mildura Primed for 70th Anniversary: Who can beat Doyle?

Jason Doyle clinches World Speedway GP in Melbourne.

A Massive line up has been assembled for the 2017 GT Onsite Windscreens Phil Crump International Solo Trophy on Sunday, November the 5th as part of the Mildura Motorcycle Club 70th Anniversary meeting at Olympic Park Speedway.

Headlining the show is none another than the 2017 World Speedway Champion Newcastle’s Jason Doyle. The man of the moment is coming to Olympic Park to show his sublime talents to the Mildura crowd.

Doyle has simply been untouchable over the last two seasons in the World of Speedway having won this year’s championship in Melbourne last weekend and having led the 2016 championship until disaster struck in the second last round in Poland while leading the championship.

Doyle won the World title in style last weekend in Melbourne not only stitching up the World title but also taking out the 2017 Australian Speedway Grand Prix. The question is can anyone stop him in Mildura and from taking out the Legendary Phil Crump Solo Trophy?

Some of the contenders that could stop Doyle are Merbein’s Australian number two Justin Sedgmen, the flying Australian Speedway Grand Prix reserve Rohan Tungate and Australian Speedway World Cup rider Nick Morris.

Sedgmen will be hoping to get one over Doyle on his home track after a strong showing in the Australian SGP last weekend where he scored four points against the worlds best. Sedgmen is a past winner of the Phil Crump Solo Trophy and would dearly like nothing more than beating the new World Champ on his home track.

Tungate was on fire also in the Australian SGP having two rides and two wins and the fastest time of the night of any rider, when Tungate hits the front his hard to catch and will be hoping to get the start on the new World Champion.

Queenslander Nick Morris had a career-best year in 2017 having represented his country in the Speedway World Cup and winning the British League for his club Swindon along with teammate Doyle.

Other riders that will be against the big four are Adelaide international Rob Branford, Mildura young guns Jordan Stewart, Jaimon Lidsey and Cooper Riordan former 250cc World Champion Matthew Gilmore and young talent in Robert Medson, James Davies and Dakota Ballantyne.

A solo Legends class will also feature on the night with former Merbein Internationals Mark Lemon and Travis McGowan coming back for a few rides along with all-round Motorcyclist Jason Stewart and cult hero Chris Ferguson putting on a show for the crowd.

Spectator gates open at 4 pm, junior racing at 6 pm, with main racing starting at an earlier time of 7 pm. For More information visit

News Archive


Our Partners